top of page

Hello There!

Hello those who are reading this! First of all thank you so much for taking the time to look through my blog! You might be asking yourself: who is this chick, what the heck does fernweh mean, what is this blog even about? I completely understand, so I am using this post to write a bit about myself, the reasons I decided to make this blog, and what I hope to post. Hope you enjoyed my sneak peak post before this. 



My name is Annika Johnson, and I am a travel, outdoor, art, food, and joy enthusiast. To give you some brief background information, I have been blessed to have traveled to many awe-inspiring places that have made my heart sing. In third grade, my dad (a community college instructor) had sabbatical and decide to bring my family of five with him. We went on a five month trip through Southeast Asia. My family isn't the 5-star hotel kinda people, but more about the backpacker hostel scene. The trip was a little overwhelming as an eight year old, but I learned so much, got to see so many cultures, and broadened my mind. Of course, money was tight a few years afterwards, but we were able to go on another trip out of the country on my dad's second sabbatical, seven years later. This time, it was just me and my parents during my sophomore year in high school. We traveled for a little over two months in Peru and Ecuador. These trips broadened my horizons and injected a joyous excitement and passion for travel.


Travel is not the only thing that makes my heart grown, but the outdoors falls closely behind. I live in South Lake Tahoe, California and sometimes, I still can’t believe I grew up here. I am surrounded by mountains and tall pine trees and have a glistening lake of the deepest ultramarine blue only five minutes away. Growing up here gave me a love for getting outside and up into elevation that has no bounds. It is in the outdoors that I find peace, joy, and feel content. My favorite activities are backpacking, rock climbing, canyoneering, river guiding, and swimming in that ultramarine blue. I also work at an adventure camp over the summer where I get to be outside and show it to others everyday!


Another passion that has always lived within me is art. I have been creating pictures with paints and pencils since before I could remember. My mom and dad are both great artists on the side and it has passed down into me and my two siblings. My favorite mediums to work with are oil painting, clay sculpting, and photography. Creating, centers and steadies me. It gives me a time to unwind and let loose the thoughts swirling in my head. It allows me to zone out the world and focus intently on myself and the canvas, clay, or shutter at my fingertips.


You know what is actually really hard to paint realistically? Fruits. Which brings me to my next passion, Food! I am a major foodie, and have been since I was little. I used to bake what seemed like hundreds of cookies for the holidays, make my own detailed birthday cakes, or bake random fruit tarts or pastries because I thought it would be fun. As I grew older, I discovered that not only did I love to bake, but make delicious and savory meals. I love to try out new recipes and make my own! Not to mention, whenever I get the chance, you’ll find me at the cutest cafes and the best restaurants with the fanciest foods. It brings me joy; in fact, all of these activities do. Joy is something that makes me glow on the inside, and it is something I am always seeking out. Joy is contagious, and I think the world could use some of that contagious jubilation. 



Smith Rock State Park, Oregon


So, now that you know a bit about me, I am sure you’re wonderings what this blog is about. I will start with its name. Fernweh. The literal definition is, the ache to get away and travel to distant places. I love the sound of this word and the meaning behind it. I think fernweh describes my desires to see the world and the physical longing I have in my heart to get out and see. I have a passion for writing and I wanted to create a blog where I could write about both my travels, and my daily thoughts of life.


So what will mainly be posted?


1. Wanderings— I will write about travel/outdoors. This includes talking about and showing you places visited, gear lists, location information, travel tips, restaurants and cafe review, rules of road, sights worth seeing, lists of activities, gear reviews, and stories about various outdoor adventures.


Olmsted Point, Tioga Pass, California


2. Wonderings— I will write about various thoughts on life. This is mainly my own opinions. I want to be able to share my thoughts because I think everyone deserves a chance to do that. Really this can be able anything, so if you are more of a “I want variety” person, this is a good place to keep up with. 



3. Random— Since I am in the first stages of this blog, I am not sure how much I want to narrow down its purpose. So there may be posts that seem like outliers. This could be anything from art museum reviews, personal art posts, food recipes, diet/food choice posts, inspiration posts, or day in the life posts. I hope you will accept my flexibility in these first months. 


So that’s a small rundown of me and my blog. I am an open person, so please feel free to comment as much as you want and reach out to me. I’d would absolutely love to hear from you! Really, I’m not joking with you here.


Thanks for joining me in my journey!


“The heart smiles in expectation of the journey, long and demanding, but worth every step” -me


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page